A+ A A-

38 graduates awarded a total of $169k scholarships from San Juan Island Community Foundation


Thanks to the sustained generosity of island donors, the San Juan Island Community Foundation has awarded 38 students more than $169,000 in scholarships for the 2022-2023 school year. The recipients include 15 graduating high school seniors – 11 from Friday Harbor High School and four from Spring Street International School – along with 23 students already working toward an undergraduate or graduate degree.

Established through a gift from the estate of Jerry Inskeep, the Inskeep Legacy Scholarship provides need-based funding for graduating high school seniors attending four-year colleges and universities full time. Scholarships can be renewed for each year of a student’s undergraduate study.

This year’s 12 new recipients are:

Gavia Boyden – Macalester College

Jazmyn Capron-Graves – Pacific University

Brenna Crouse-Smith – University of Washington

Luke Fincher – Western Washington University

Olivia Germain – University of Colorado Boulder

Isabel Graham – Arizona State University

Hannah Greene – Western Washington University

Lucy Martin – University of Puget Sound

Aiyana O’Prussack – Bryn Mawr

Catherine Pignatiello – Ithaca College

Ava Smith – Arizona State University

Robin Taylor – University of Washington

The 16 students receiving renewable awards this year include:

Ty Anderson – Gonzaga University

Ela Angevine – Anglo-American University

Emily Atwell – Portland State University

Julian Brown – Santa Clara University

Olivia Brown – Savannah College of Art & Design

Trinity Cullen – University of Arizona

Marieke Danniau – Columbus College of Art & Design

Evan Foley – University of Washington

Raylee Miniken – Western Washington University

Aida Must – Washington State University

Stella Parsons – The Master’s University

Ayla Ridwan – Stanford University

Thea Seitz – Karolinska Institute

Georgia Smith – Pacific Lutheran University

Rachel Starr – University of Montana

Fallon Taylor – Villanova University

The San Juan Island Community Foundation Scholarship Fund provides awards for San Juan Island residents furthering their education at a community college, two-year college, four-year college or university, graduate school program, or career training program.

This year’s recipients include six students who will be university seniors or graduate students in the fall:

Lydia Downs-Williams – University of Montana

Isabel Gabriel – Pacific Lutheran University

Megan Haagensen – Western Washington University

Brooke Radcliffe – Antioch University New England

Madeline Schroeder – University of Washington

Kiana Woods – University of Utah

The San Juan Pilots Association created the John Volk Memorial Scholarship to provide funding for students pursuing a career in an aviation-related field. It seeks to encourage and reward the sort of friendship, leadership, and service that typified John Volk’s presence in our community. This year’s four recipients are:

Julian Brown – Santa Clara University

Levi Demaris – Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Siri Dow – University of Washington

Aaron Kahekili Vliet – Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The scholarship established in memory of Dr. Marcia L. Zakarison, MD, offers a one-time scholarship for graduating high school seniors pursuing a career in human medicine and the healing arts, either at technical or trade schools, or two- or four-year colleges or universities. This year’s awards go to:

Amelia Eltinge – Washington State University

Isabel Graham – Arizona State University

2022 marks the Community Foundation’s 15th consecutive year providing scholarships to island students. In the past 15 years SJICF has awarded $2.15 million in scholarships to 175 recipients.

Established in 1994, SJICF grants funds to local nonprofits and provides scholarships to local students through the generosity of donors who wish to improve the quality of life on San Juan Island. SJICF’s mission is the help the San Juan Island community thrive through inspired and informed generosity and the Foundation’s trusted stewardship. To learn more, visit www.sjicf.org.

Leave a comment

Comments are welcome as long as they are civil, do not include personal attacks, and pertain to the subject. In order to avoid being overrun by spam, comments are reviewed before they are posted.