A+ A A-

Mount Vernon dominates 5th Annual Friday Harbor Invitational - 2018

  • Written by Wolverine Golf Coach Jack Rice

Mount Vernon Christian dominated the 4th Annual Friday Harbor Invitational May 3 at San Juan Golf Club. Medalist for the Tournament went to Max Hansen from Mount Vernon with a playoff victory over Brandon Hodgson from Anacortes. Tied for 3rd and 4th place were two more Mount Vernon players, Kyle Ekkelkemp and John Phifer both with 89. The Mount Vernon squad won the team competition by 11 shots over second place Anacortes. Ten golf medals were awarded in the Men’s division and Mount Vernon took home nine. They definitely are the team favorite at the upcoming District Tournament.

Wolverine golf team sporting their new purple golf shirts.  Mike Bell photo

As the Coach, I am proud of the way our squad played. Dylan Posenjak continues to be our best player. Even with a little trouble on the back nine he still turned in a nice round of 96. Freshman Ethan Havel continues to improve. He had another personal best by carding a 45 on the back nine along with his 55 for a total of 100.

This is the fourth year we hosted the Invitational. It was created as an event that would act as a dress rehearsal for the District. We have the District, Bi District and State Tournament, one a week for the next three weeks. It’s going to be fun and exciting for the team for the next couple of weeks to see how far they can actually go.

The Lopez Ladies golf team did a clean sweep, taking 1st, 2nd and 3rd Place individually. They were lead by Anah-Kate Drahn who turned in the low round for the day with a 95. Last year Coach Tetu took five players to the State Tournament. It looks like he is on track to do the same this year.

To make this tournament more fun, we added a few tee prizes for the competitors. Ian Volk, Friday Harbor won the long drive contest with a bombing 300 + yard drive. Long drive in the women’s competition went to Siri Dye from Lopez. Closest to the pin on number 8 went to Brandon Hodgson from Anacortes. Closest to the pin on number 8 for women went to Siri Dye from Lopez with a great shot to within 4 feet. Closest to the pin on number 6 went to Zane Wentzell, Anacortes. Closest to the pin on 6 for the women went to Kate Combs, Lopez with a great 4 foot shoot.

Hosting a big Tournament like the Invitational just doesn’t happen. It takes a lot of work by a number of helpers. Over a half dozen members from the San Juan Ladies Golf Association were there to help with the score and the food. The Ladies Association hosted the BBQ for the 40 plus kids and they deserve a Big Thank You. This was our first 18 hole event for the season. The kitchen staff and Micha along with my Assistants, Gordy Waite and Greg Sawyer provided the man power to pull off this event. Our new Professional, Connie Gregor, greeted everyone on behalf of our Club and provided her expertise to producing a first class score board. Sven, Tyler and Sand Trap Bill had the course looking as good as we have seen it all year. To add to the excitement, the crew had the greens rolled and the speed of the putts matched that of midsummer! As you all know, fast greens make for fun golf. The course was in such good condition we played summer rules to help get ready for what we will experience at the State Tournament. And finally, big thanks to all the members and Board of the San Juan Golf Club for their support of Junior golf and allowing us to host the event at our great club. Thank You All.

Recovering from our first 18 hole match, we’ll be practicing every day and then on May 9 we’re off to District in Oak Harbor.


Friday Harbor First Team 411

Dylan Posenjak 45-51 96

Ian Volk 57-53 110

Peter Kulseth 55-60 115

Ethan Havel 55-45 100

Sean Chevalier 48-58 106

Weston Swirtz 59-50 109

Friday Harbor Second Team 474

Chase Wilson 63-60 123

Alen Melic 57-52 109

Joe Kaden 59-65 124

Aidan Shannon 61-57 118

Isaac Brumsickle 59-67 126

Lucas Wickman 63-64 127

Tyler Fleming 65-66 130

Mount Vernon Christian 359 1st Place Team Men

Max Hansen 86 1st Place Individual Playoff Winner

Kyle Ekkelkamp 89 3rd Tie

DJ Droog 95

Shane Mailliard 109

John Phifer 89 3rd Tie

Caleb Boon 114

Anacortes 370

Brandon Hodgson 86 2nd Place Individual Playoff Runner-ups

Benji Collins 92

Zane Wentzell 102

Quinn Millard 99

Conner Cho 93

Orcas Island 435

Leaf Gustafson 93

Serei O’Tool 108

Joe Brewer 114

Ewan Lister 120

Lopez Island

Reese Hamelton 94

Lopez Women Team 1 196 1st Place Team Women

Anah-Kate Drahn 95 1st Place Individual

Siri Dye 101 3rd Place Individual

Kate Combs 112

Lopez Women Team 2 203

Shayna Gruenwald 104

Naomi Vliet 121

Nora Zapalac 99 2nd Place Individual

Mount Vernon Christian Women

Taylor Heaphy 134



Coach Jack Rice

Last modified onSaturday, 04 May 2019 15:01

Related items